Night Mode Night Mode
Day Mode Day Mode

WhatsApp adds disappearing photos feature

By Mariah Nanah

WhatsApp has added the disappearing photos feature to the latest version of the app. Whatsapp’s newly launched ‘View Once’ is similar to Instagram’s expiring media feature.

 When sending a photo using this feature, it will disappear once the receiver opens it and leaves the chat. But, you will have to select View Once media each time you want to send a view once photo or video. 

Any photo or video you send using the ‘View Once’ feature will not be saved to the recipient’s Photos or Gallery. Once you send a View Once photo or video, WhatsApp won’t be able to show it again.

On the other hand the app will not allow you to forward, save, star, or share photos or videos that were sent or received with View Once media feature. You can only see if a recipient has opened a View Once photo or video if they have read receipts turned on.

The company also says that if you don’t open the photo or video within 14 days, the media will expire from the chat. However, one will be able to restore the ‘View once media’ from backup if the message remains unread at the time of backup.

If the photo or video has already been opened, the media will not be included in the backup and can’t be restored.

WhatsApp allows anyone to take a screenshot or screen recording of the media before it disappears. The individual won’t get notified if someone takes a screenshot or screen recording.

WhatsApp warns that one can even take a photo or video of the media with a camera or other device before it disappears. The company says “Encrypted media may be stored for a few weeks on WhatsApp’s servers after you’ve sent it.”

Here’s how to set up this update;

Step 1: Open WhatsApp and tap on the attachment icon.

Step 2: Then, go to gallery and select the photo or video you want to send to your contact.

Step 3: After selecting it, you will see a clock-like icon in the ‘add a caption’ bar, just tap on it to enable the View Once feature.

 Once you enable it, the app will show a message saying “photo set to View Once.” 

You can then send disappearing photos to your friends and family members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to top
Close