FIBA Zone V Afrobasket Women Qualifiers Attracts Five Countries

Five countries have confirmed their participation in the highly anticipated FIBA Zone V Women’s Afro-Basket Qualifiers. They are Egypt, Rwanda, Sudan, Kenya, and host Uganda.

Hudson Segamwenge, the Vice President in charge of Administration at the Federation of Uganda Basketball Association- FUBA told URN that although they anticipated more than 10 teams from FIBA Zone V to compete in the tournament, they have only received confirmation from four, two days to the tournament.

The other countries in the same zone are Burundi, Tanzania, Zanzibar, Somalia, Sudan, Ethiopia, and Eritrea. Uganda is hosting this year’s six-day tournament at the Lugogo Indoor Arena from February 14 to 19, 2023.

The five teams will be tussling it out for a single slot in the 2023 FIBA Women’s AfroBasket.  If they qualify for the tournament, the Gazelles will be making their third appearance on the continent, having appeared in 1997 and in 2015.  During the last edition of the FIBA Afrobasket qualifiers in 2021, FUBA withdrew a few days before the start of the qualifiers due to the lack of funds.

Meanwhile, the Ugandan National team, the Gazelles which has spent nearly a month in preparations for the tournament has already taken shape with a final list of 15 players out of the 28 that were summoned earlier on January 16 2023. They are Evelyn Nakiyingi, Shakira Nanvubya, Rita Imanishimwe, Flavia Oketcho, Perus Nyamwenge, Ekone Brenda, Lamunu Shillah, Leticia Awor, Maria Najjuma, Jannon Otto, Agatha Kamwada, Zaina Lokwameri, Akello Hope Agnes, Bridget Aber, and Ageno Sarah Juliet. 

In a different development, FUBA reduced the entrance fees from the 20,000 they had announced earlier to 10,000 Shillings. Arnold Katabi, Vice President in charge of Marketing and Publicity at FUBA told URN that the fee was revised after several complaints from people. 

The Afrobasket Women is Africa’s women’s basketball continental tournament, held every two years. Nigeria is the defending champion of the biennial tournament, which was last held in Cameroon in 2021.

Scroll to top