Oyam North By- Election: EC Warns Candidates Against Unscheduled Campaigns

The Electoral Commission (EC) has warned nominated candidates for the Oyam-North by-election to refrain from campaigning outside the designated time frame.

The Oyam-North constituency parliamentary seat fell vacant on May 2nd, 2023 following the murder of former MP Col (RTD) Charles Okello Engola by his bodyguard Private Wilson Sabiiti. As a result, the EC announced the roadmap for a by-election to fill the vacant seat.

During a media briefing at the end of the first day of nominations on Monday, Paul Bukenya, the EC Spokesperson, cautioned the candidates against engaging in campaigns before coordinating their activities with the EC, as such actions often lead to chaos and disruptions.

Bukenya commended the candidates for displaying respect towards one another during the nomination process and urged them to maintain the same spirit of civility throughout their campaigns, emphasizing that there is life after elections.

Earlier in the day, supporters of the National Unity Platform (NUP) who accompanied their candidate, Daniel Okello, for nomination, expressed their discontent by booing supporters of the ruling National Resistance Movement-NRM party as they exited the nomination venue with their candidate, Samuel Engola Okello.

However, the security personnel present swiftly intervened to restore calm. Rosemary Seninde, the NRM’s Director for Mobilization, expressed optimism about a smooth by-election process and expressed confidence in the ruling party’s chances of securing a victory.

So far four candidates have been successfully nominated for the by-election. They are Daniel Okello from the National Unity Platform-NUP, Freddy Newton Okello from the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC), Dr. Eunice Apio Otuko from the Uganda People’s Congress (UPC), and Samuel Engola Okello from the National Resistance Movement- NRM.

Three additional aspirants, namely Willy Omodo Kagere and Queen Dorthy Amolo (Independent leaning-NRM), and Isaa Otto Amiza, the former Oyam South MP, have obtained nomination forms and are expected to join the race after completing the nomination process.

Scroll to top