Kampala, Wakiso CPS Get New Division Police Commanders

The Inspector General of Police, Martin Ochola, has named new Division Police Commanders (DPC) for three of the 18 divisions that make up the Kampala metropolitan policing area.

In the latest reshuffles, Ochola has appointed Superintendent of Police Martin Okoyo, as the new DPC for Kampala’s Central Police Station replacing Ronald Wotwari who was sent to Olilim Training School in Katakwi district.

CPS houses the office of the Kampala Metropolitan Police Commander and Flying Squad as well as other vital departments that help to manage security in the greater Kampala region. Okoyo has been DPC for Mityana District where he has now been replaced with Swaib Taban who has been in charge of Gulu district.

Idris Kyeyune is now the new DPC for Mukono Division. He previously commanded Kabalagala and Old Kampala divisions. Annabella Nyiramahoro who has been the Mukono division boss has been transferred to Private Security Organisation.

Meanwhile, Robert Katuramu has been appointed Wakiso District Police Commander. In total, the IGP has moved 52 DPCs and Officers in Charge of Stations. Juliet Baguma has been named Officer in Charge of Buloba Police Station, criminal investigations.

Molly Achora has moved from CID Busunju to the forensic audit unit, SP Vincent Okurut who was transferred to Katonga region as CID commandant months ago has been moved to Electricity Regulatory Authority on police secondment and ASP Josephine Alupo from CID legal department to Uganda Communications Commission.

Shakira Namirimu has also been moved from Kiteezi Police Post to Bulenga as an Officer in charge of Criminal Investigations. Former Kira road, Nakasongola, Kikuube, and Serere DPC SP Micheal Kasigire has been appointed Savannah Regional Deputy Police Commander while Hakim Omar has been sent to the Professional Standards Unit for investigations over misconduct.

Scroll to top