FULL LIST:  NRM  MPs Who Have Expressed Interest to Replace Oulanyah as Speaker

With the passing of Speaker (now former) Jacob Oulayah, the position he occupied fell vacant and is supposed to be filled quickly as no business can happen in Parliament before a new Speaker is elected, according to Article 82 (4) of the 1995 Constitution and Rule 5 (4) of the Rules of Procedure.

On Tuesday, a total of 13 MPs including some ministers expressed interest in the position, including the Deputy Speaker, Anita Among.

Others are;

  1. Jacob Oboth Oboth –  Minister of Defense ( General duties)
  2. Jackson Kafuuzi – Deputy Attorney General
  3. Jane Ruth Aceng – Minister of health
  4. Hamson Obua – Minister of State for Sports
  5. Amos John Okot – Agago North
  6. Theodore Ssekikubo – MP, Lwemiyaga
  7. Pius Wakabi – Mp, Bugahya county
  8. Florence Akiiki Asiimwe – Masindi Woman MP
  9. Felix Okot Ogong – MP, Dokolo South
  10. Sarah Opendi – Tororo. Woman MP
  11. Atima Jackson Lee Buti – MP, Arua City central division
  12. Brandon Alex Kintu – MP, Kagoma North

Minister of Health Dr Ruth Aceng has today withdrawn from the race.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top