EC Starts Nomination Of Candidates For Bukedea LC5 By-Election

The Electoral Commission (EC) on Monday started a two-day exercise to nominate candidates to contest in the by-election for Bukedea District Local Council V Chairperson.

Paul Bukenya, the Spokesperson of the Commission revealed that seven aspirants have already collected forms for the nomination, and are expected to return them for verification during the two-day exercise that will end on Tuesday.

Bukenya explained that during this exercise, the Commission will also nominate candidates to contest for the positions of Councillors where vacancies exist. The nominations will be conducted at the Office of the Returning Officer in Bukedea Town Council, starting at 9:00 am and ending at 5:00 pm.

The aspirants include; Mary Akol of the ruling National Resistance Movement – NRM; Pius Edekeny (Independent), Tychicus Lokwiisk Ebukalin (Independent), Sam Oita Odeke of the Forum for Democratic Change – FDC party, Paul Okiria (National Unity Platform – NUP), Salim Okwii (Uganda Peoples’ Congress – UPC), and David Stephen Omagor (Independent).

The nominated candidates will conduct campaign meetings for six days starting June 7-12th, 2023. Polling for District Female Workers Councillors, and the Sub County Male Youth Councilor representing Kocheka Sub-county, will be conducted on 13 June 2023, and shall be by the electoral college.

Aspiring candidates will be required to fulfill all the requirements for nomination for District Chairperson (LC. V) and Councillor for the respective electoral position.

Polling and counting of results for by-election of the District Chairperson, the District Directly-elected Councillor for Bukedea Sub County; the Sub County Woman Councillor for Mukongoro in Aligoi Sub County, and the Sub County Directly-elected Councillor for Kotiokot Parish in Kabarwa Sub County, will be conducted on June 14th, 2023 at all polling stations in the affected electoral areas.

The District Chairperson seat for Bukedea District fell vacant following the death of the former Chairperson, Moses Olemukan on 17 December 2022, while the other Local Government vacancies occurred due to the resignation of the elected Councillors.

Scroll to top